BCL dissolves in four more districts

Pro-government student organisation Bangladesh Chhatra League has dissolved district committees of Dhaka, Munshiganj, Rajbari and Meherpur.

The decision came from a meeting of the central executive committee, a BCL release said on Wednesday, signed by its president Mahmud Hasan Ripon and general secretary Mahfuzul Haider Chowdhury Roton.

However, vice-president Shahadat Hossain Sujon said the decision was taken by the executive committee.

“It is a decision by the president and the general secretary,” he told bdnews24.com, apparently distancing himself from the action.

Earlier, committees of Barisal city, Satkhira, Brahmanbaria, Manikganj and Sherpur were dissolved.

New committees in 27 districts and organisational districts were formed after the present central committee took office on Apr 5, 2006.